Ways to get Kids to Eat Healthy Foods

IT ALL STARTS BEFORE THEY’RE BORN

My first child was a very picky eater.  Even to this day (he is now 21 years old), he doesn’t like vegetables.  For years I assumed that some kids are just born picky and that there’s nothing you can do about it.  Now, however, I know that while it is true that some are born more particular than others, there are a number of things that can be done to positively influence a child’s food choices.

This will be the first in a series of posts I write about what I have learned over the years from the hundreds of families with whom I have worked, from the studying I have done, and from what I have discovered in the little laboratory of my home with my own children.  (I’m very happy to report that my other 3 children have much better eating habits than my first!  More about that later.) 

Children’s food preferences can be influenced
even before they’re born! 

It’s true!  What a woman eats during her pregnancy flavors her amniotic fluid… and baby drinks that fluid.  So, if you want a junk food junkie, then eat all the sweets and fast food you want.  But, if you want a child who loves vegetables, start introducing him to a wide variety of veggies before he is born by eating them yourself.   

This fact is backed up in scientific literature and has proven itself true with my own children.  My first was born when I was 17 and clueless.  I probably ate a little better when I was pregnant than I would have otherwise, but I still ate like a typical teen– certainly not healthy by any stretch of the imagination.  The other three, on the other hand, were born later in my life when I was much more aware and educated.  My first, as I already mentioned, was (& still is) a “picky eater” who, for the most part, won’t eat anything that grows on plants.  The others, however, eat almost exclusively foods that grow on plants– and thoroughly enjoy their food! 

Of course, what we eat during pregnancy is only the beginning of influencing our child’s food preferences.  It takes more than a healthy diet during pregnancy to have the greatest possible impact. 

I will share in future posts about what can be done during a child’s infancy, early childhood, and even into his teens to help him develop a lifetime love of the kinds of food that will keep him healthy for life. 

I’d love to get your feedback about this (and any of the other posts on my blog, too).  Feel free to comment!  🙂

1 Comment

  1. amanda said,

    December 19, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    I totally agree. Our DS – just over 1 year – LOVES his veggies – loves spinach, green beans and broccoli. why? well, I can’t remember exactly what he got while in utero, but once we started him on solids after 6 months, we gave him tons of veggies. if he rejected something, that was fine, but about 2 weeks later he got it again, until he accepted it. that is why he likes his spinach. now i’m just waiting to see if he totally rejects it in another year or two…we’ll see.


Leave a Reply

