Singing to Relax during Labor

I have helped many women through the wonderful miracle of labor and birth over the last 20 years and am always brought to tears as new life enters the world.  It has always been a huge honor and privilege to help families prepare for their births and to assist them through their labors and deliveries.  It brings me great pleasure to help women have healthy, fulfilling birth experiences.

It is very sad to me, however, that so many women face childbirth equipped with so much bad information and fear; which, consequently, leads to greater pain and less-than-fulfilling birth experiences.  It doesn’t have to be that way! 

Here is a video of a woman singing through labor as a way to stay focused and relaxed– just before the home birth of her 10 lb baby.  It is beautiful and encouraging.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

“I will sing unto the LORD, for he hath triumphed gloriously…” Exodus 15:1

“I will sing unto the LORD, because he hath dealt bountifully with me.” Psalm 13:6

“But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.”- Psalm 59:16

“I will sing unto the LORD as long as I live: I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.” Psalm 104:33

“O God, my heart is fixed; I will sing and give praise, even with my glory.” Psalm 108:1

Leave a Reply

